The farm had been purchased in 1960 by Jon Ian Fraser, the great-grandson of the founders of the 'House of Fraser' group.
As custodians of the estate since 1960, the Fraser family proudly offer our customers the opportunity to experience our renowned Frasers hospitality.
We are set in the idyllic location yet only an hour from London. Our accommodation is both historic and stylish blending seamlessly the ancient with the modern.
Our event-management and hospitality, combined with our award-winning sustainable tourism and farming practices engage and benefit both our visitor and local community.
Our guest experience is unique, offering valued customers a 'home from home' experience in the quintessentially, unspoilt Kent countryside.
Nestled at the end of a private drive, Frasers has been a holiday destination since 1992. The journey began by converting a redundant Oast house and former stable block into boutique holiday accommodation.
Our family business then grew organically over the last 30+ years, going from strength to strength. During this time we had three children, William, Eleanore and Harriette. These early days were hectic to say the least, juggling three children, holiday accommodation, livestock and the farm.
Since then we have continually strived to improve our sustainability, the quality of our accommodation and our guest experience.
In 2017 we converted our innovative 'Stags Barn' to form a flexible tourist facility that was 100% passive in nature.
We are now offering the estate for private retreats and group holidays, the estate is now a multi-award winning business.
Fraser Family History
Hugh Fraser (Adam's great great grandfather) was born in 1815. In 1849 he became a junior partner in James Arthur - then in 1850 Arthur and Fraser was founded. This business grew over the 1850s and 1860s.
By 1866 the partnership was dissolved and Fraser and McLaren was established. In 1873 Hugh Fraser died and in 1875 his eldest son James Arthur Fraser took the reins. At this point Fraser and Sons was born.
This was very much a family business run by three of the five sons. John Fraser became Chairman. At the beginning of the nineteenth century Hugh Fraser II took over control and when he died in 1927 his son Hugh Fraser III took control. He eventually became Hugh Fraser of Allander - having run the business from 1937 until 1966.
The business became the 'House of Fraser' in 1937. The Company was extremely successful and expanded rapidly taking over many household retailer names such as Harrods, Barkers, Army & Navy and Cheesemans.
Hugh IV was born in 1936 and died in 1988. In 1984 the Company went public. .
Located in the heart of the Kent countryside
An award winning small private estate and eco venue